Rogers Cup presented by National Bank to Welcome 78 of the Top 80 Players in the World

Wednesday, Jul 8

[vc_row full_width=”” parallax=”” parallax_image=””][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]

The Top 40 men to play in Montreal while 38 of the Top 40 women will compete in Toronto

July 8, 2015 – Tennis Canada announced Wednesday the official player acceptance lists for the 2015 Rogers Cup presented by National Bank in Montreal and Toronto. This year, 78 of the Top 80 players in the world will be descending upon Canada, including both world No. 1s Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams. The Top 40 men of the ATP World Tour will play at STADE IGA in Montreal from August 7-16, while 38 of the Top 40 women of the WTA will compete August 8-16 at Aviva Centre in Toronto.

“Our tournament is one of the most important stops of the year, especially as part of the summer hard court swing, and this stellar player field illustrates that,” said Karl Hale, Rogers Cup Toronto tournament director. “We pride ourselves on constantly striving to be the best and that starts with attracting the top tennis players in the world. We want our fans to have a first-class experience here from the minute they set foot on the grounds of Aviva Centre and this list of players will certainly help deliver that on the court.”

“We are once again thrilled to be welcoming the ATP World Tour back to the city of Montreal,” said Eugene Lapierre, Rogers Cup Montreal tournament director. “We experienced world record attendance when the men were in town in 2011 as well as historic results from our Canadian players in 2013. We are hoping for the 2015 edition of the event to be even better and this player field will help us achieve that. We are very much looking forward to creating more memorable moments for our fans.”

Other past champions expected at the tournament include nine-time French Open winner Rafael Nadal, 17-time Grand Slam champion Roger Federer, two-time Rogers Cup titlist Andy Murray, defending champions Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Agniezska Radwanska, two-time Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova and former No. 1 players Maria Sharapova and Caroline Wozniacki. Joining them will be fan favourites Ana Ivanovic, Venus Williams, Gael Monfils, Stan Wawrinka and homegrown stars Milos Raonic and Eugenie Bouchard. Canada’s Vasek Pospisil is also included on the Montreal player list as he was awarded an early wildcard by the tournament on Wednesday.

Fans in both cities will also get to see the future of tennis up-close and personal as the next generation of talented players will all be in attendance. On the men’s side this includes Kei Nishikori, Grigor Dimitrov, Nick Kyrgios and Jack Sock while the WTA boasts rising stars Madison Keys, Belinda Bencic and Garbine Muguruza.

The 56-player draw in each city will be completed with the addition of qualifiers, tournament wildcards and Tour special exemptions. The remainder of these entrants will be announced at a later date.

For the full Toronto player list, click here. For the full Montreal player list, click here.

As always, Rogers Cup puts fans first. With many different activations set for this summer, one key element remains the on-site experience. Several site upgrades are set to be implemented, particularly in Toronto, and all aimed at improving the fan experience. For more information, click here.

Rogers Cup presented by National Bank will take place August 8-16, 2015 at Aviva Centre on York University campus in Toronto and from August 7-16, 2015 at STADE IGA in Montreal. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]