The 25 best WTA players will be in Montreal for the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank

Thursday, Jun 28

The tournament will count on the participation of ten Grand Slam champions.

This summer, the biggest stars on the WTA tour will be in Montreal for the 2018 edition of the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank. This is what Tennis Canada announced on Thursday as they revealed the player list for this prestigious WTA Premier 5 tournament. For the 39th edition of the Montreal event, the 25 best players in the world will battle it out for the title from August 3 to 12 on the courts at IGA Stadium.

Among the most highly anticipated athletes in Montreal is the 2016 champion Simona Halep. The Romanian native, who is currently World No. 1, recently won her first Grand Slam title at Roland-Garros. Numerous other Grand Slam champions, such as Victoria Azarenka, Angelique Kerber, Petra Kvitova, Garbine Muguruza, Jelena Ostapenko, Maria Sharapova, Sloane Stephens, Venus Williams and Caroline Wozniacki, will all attempt to stop her.

“The 2018 season has been very interesting on the WTA tour, as we have a happy amalgamation of players: some who are well established in their thirties, but still as threatening as ever, others who have previously been World No. 1 and seem to still be at the top of their game and the young guns who continue to progress and could shake things up,” stated Eugène Lapierre, Tournament Director of the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank. “One thing is certain, all of the elements are in place for us to have another memorable tournament.”

Click here to consult the player list. The 56-player draw will be completed in the coming weeks with the addition of the Wild Cards, notably the three that will be given to Canadian players, and the players that will make it through the qualifying rounds.